Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Soda Making > Glass for rootbeer for old time's sake

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-18-2008, 06:16 PM   #1
firefarmer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default Glass for rootbeer for old time's sake

hi, i'm a new member and although i have been brewing many alcoholic beverages for the last three or four years, i'm new to soda.

i want to make rootbeer to bring to my family christmas this year (we celebrate on new years) because my family used to make it when i was very little.

i know people say not to use glass, but i have the exact bottles we used to use and i think it would be great fun to see the looks on my brothers & sisters faces when they see the old bottles.

my questions are thus, first of all can anyone give me advice on ways to make an explosion less likely?

second, i remember putting the full bottles in the oven when i was a kid but don't see any mention of doing that in any of the things i have read recently. any ideas why my dad did this?

thanks so much

-åke larson

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2008, 06:25 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4342 Times on 3157 Posts
Likes Given: 845

He probably put them in the oven to kill the yeast so the bottles didn't explode.

As you know, the live yeast will keep fermenting. That's what we recommend bottling in plastic soda bottles and sticking them in the fridge as soon as they are carbonated. I would guess that putting the glass bottles in the oven pasteurized the root beer and disabled the yeast.

I'm sure he knew what he was doing, but I don't think I'd take a chance. If you're inexperienced with this, you could be giving your family root beer grenades.