Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Soda Making > Ginger Beer Plant source

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2012, 06:30 AM   #31
mjhszig
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by matts View Post
I didn't get any instructions with mine. I was going off two different sets of recipes on Happy Herbalist's site. One uses lemon, one doesn't. One adds the sugar at the end of boiling the ginger, the other after it has all cooled. No mention of sanitization procedures in any. I figure this is pretty robust since this came from the time when iodophor and star san didn't exist.

What are you all using for sanitization?

Are you boiling the sugars and adjuncts like raisins?
I'm a newb to actual gbp. I was using god knows what before...
3 batches -so far so good.
I have yet to sanitize anything other than super hot tap water, and have had no problem with infection, so save the star san for beer.

I would suggest always using lemon, if only a little. The acid does help it to keep other stuff from growing. Always cream of tartar, the potassium helps it grow. Always add molasses or piloncillo, which is really the sugar it prefers, but doesnt taste the best..
I have not boiled any sugars, as of yet, just added to pot of hot water to help dissolve.

This is the recipe that I made first and its amazing. I based it mainly off of all Dinnerstick's recipes and hard work.

2.5oz raw ginger, blender-ed, and boiled in an inch of water, for ~30mins along with:
1/2 lemons worth of zest
2grams cloves

^strained& add to

64oz spring water
8oz Sugar in the Raw
2oz molasses
1oz piloncillo
1 lemon's juice
1t cream of tartar
8 thin slices of fresh ginger
GBP

pa 8.5% OG 1.067