Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > When to pick?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-05-2010, 08:46 PM   #1
jheist
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default When to pick?

This is my first year and I have a cascade and a columbus going strong! They are 18 ft tall and the cascade has been putting out cones for several weeks now and the columbus just started putting out sizeable cones this week. Both seem to be full-size cones and are starting to brown on the edges. They smell great!

My question is how do I know if I am picking them when they are ready or am I picking them before they are ready. I have picked several so far just to check and they seem ready.

I have heard to squeeze them and if they pop back open quickly and feel papery they are ready. This being my first year I am not experienced enough to know if they are ready.

Thanks for your help!

Primary: Yooper's Dead Guy Clone, Orange Hefeweizen
Conditioning: Blonde Strikes Back
Drinking:English/American Pale Ale Crossover, Bee Cave IPA

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-05-2010, 09:00 PM   #2
Hopfarmer
Vendor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 14 Posts

Its way to early for them to be ready.I posted dry matter parameters last year will find them and re post. They should be papery.dry some out in the oven on low for 3-4 hrs or in a food dehydrator overnight.Should be no grassy smell

Old 07-05-2010, 09:04 PM   #3
Hopfarmer
Vendor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Recipes 

http://www.oregonhops.org/culture3.html

Old 07-06-2010, 02:44 AM   #4
jheist
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts