Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > what variety of hops to grow

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2013, 04:03 PM   #1
jeffersonjames
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default what variety of hops to grow

I am looking to plant some hops this years and I am looking for in put on what kinds to get. I am new to brewing so my knowledge is limited on hops as I have not used many. I have noticed that many recipies call for cascade so I plan on planting more of that kind. I only plan to grow what I would need for my own brew so variety is more important than quantity. I have an acre so I imagine I could plant a good amount. Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2013, 04:58 PM   #2
ArrowheadHops
Recipes 

Liked 20 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 42

Grow what your recipes need or styles you like especially for aroma and start with a few plants.

Old 01-17-2013, 05:07 PM   #3
TyTanium
Recipes 

Liked 549 Times on 387 Posts
Likes Given: 418

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffersonjames View Post
I am looking to plant some hops this years and I am looking for in put on what kinds to get. I am new to brewing so my knowledge is limited on hops as I have not used many. I have noticed that many recipies call for cascade so I plan on planting more of that kind. I only plan to grow what I would need for my own brew so variety is more important than quantity. I have an acre so I imagine I could plant a good amount. Thanks
Where are you? Grow hops that do well in your area, then learn how to brew beers to use them.

Old 01-17-2013, 05:10 PM   #4
jeffersonjames
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by TyTanium View Post

Where are you? Grow hops that do well in your area, then learn how to brew beers to use them.