The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > What soil should i use for cascade and saaz

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2011, 03:42 PM   #1
Wulfman
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 255
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default What soil should i use for cascade and saaz

Tomorrow i am getting some cascade and saaz cuttings. I am going to put them in some planter boxes. The boxes are 6 inches deep but i have nice soil underneath for them to spread. I have the option of getting them 12inches high?? My main question is what is the best type of soil to use for these hops? Also should I go with higher boxes?

Thanks

__________________
Wulfman is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-12-2011, 04:27 PM   #2
B-Hoppy
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
B-Hoppy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,250
Liked 122 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 211

Default

Compost and yes to the higher boxes. Why wouldn't you just plant them in the earth? If it's due to trying to contain them you might be able to get away with a 5 gal bucket (with the bottom removed) planted into the ground. A bigger container would probably be more appropriate.

__________________
B-Hoppy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-12-2011, 05:40 PM   #3
Halfdrunkhero
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 6
Default

Pretty much no plant other than a large tree has a root cluster that goes deeper than 12 inches, generally root structures move more horizontally... Additionally, what are you going to use for risers?

__________________
Halfdrunkhero is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-12-2011, 05:52 PM   #4
Wulfman
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 255
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I am moving in a year and dont want to have roots too deep and I have the option of buying 6inches and 12 inches

__________________
Wulfman is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-12-2011, 09:17 PM   #5
Wulfman
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 255
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

So any decent soil and compost is good? and shoiuld i go with the 12 incher?

__________________
Wulfman is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-12-2011, 11:57 PM   #6
B-Hoppy
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
B-Hoppy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,250
Liked 122 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 211

Default

Yes, I'd go with the bigger containers. The more soil around the crown will help moderate any big temperature swings and may help keep the crown cooler. Good soil, compost, well rotted manure etc. and you're good to go!

__________________
B-Hoppy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2011, 12:00 AM   #7
Wulfman
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 255
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Ok sounds good, thank you

__________________
Wulfman is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2011, 12:02 PM   #8
Farside
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 59
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I'm in the same boat.

I'm going to use a tomato growers trick and buy 50L bags of garden mix, put holes in the bottom to let water out, cut the top open and plant a rhizome directly into each bag.

It's not pretty but it's only temporary and very cheap :-)

I was going to stand them on end (so they are tall) but do you think it's better to lay them flat? I thought hops were deep rooting.

__________________
Farside is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2011, 03:47 PM   #9
Wulfman
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 255
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Im getting the 12 inch tall today we will see how it works. Soo my question again, i know i need soil and compost but what kind of soil is best if any? I mean store bought soil, or i mught just go to the garden store and ask.

Thanks

__________________
Wulfman is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2011, 04:27 PM   #10
B-Hoppy
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
B-Hoppy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,250
Liked 122 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 211

Default

You don't want clay and you don't want sand. A medium textured, well draining soil medium will work just fine. Buy potting soil if you have to.

__________________
B-Hoppy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hops Soil and Watering winstonofbeer Hops Growing 7 04-06-2011 05:28 PM
Soil Contaminants yarrr Hops Growing 1 04-06-2011 04:24 PM
How close to soil for twine? killerhertz Hops Growing 8 05-06-2009 04:17 PM
hops in SOIL....... cheezydemon Hops Growing 3 03-31-2008 01:44 PM
Hop shoots have broken the soil runhard Hops Growing 12 03-30-2008 08:26 PM