Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > What do I do with new rhizomes in September?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2012, 09:30 PM   #11
bionut
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoops_hops View Post
Hops like to freeze. If it freezes tomorrow the rhizome will preserve. If it doesn't freeze they will begin to root and be even stronger in the spring
Hello, i am in a similar dilemma, i will get some rhizomes in November. It's ok to plant them in the ground then? I live in Romania, around the 45 parallel. There are pretty expensive for me (i'm a student:-)) so i want to make the right choise not to lose them because of freeze or so... Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2012, 01:51 AM   #12
hoops_hops
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by bionut

Hello, i am in a similar dilemma, i will get some rhizomes in November. It's ok to plant them in the ground then? I live in Romania, around the 45 parallel. There are pretty expensive for me (i'm a student:-)) so i want to make the right choise not to lose them because of freeze or so... Thanks!
You should be fine, mulch heavily over where you plant them. That will keep the soil a bit warmer. Just remember that rhizomes have a fairly high rate of failure, so be prepared for some not to make it. If you are really paranoid you can pot them and plant in the spring, just don't make the mistake of giving them too much attention. Too many people feel they need to poke and prod and water their plants all the time and end up killing them.

Side note, I know they grow hops in Bulgaria, not sure how you would go about purchasing plants from there but I know they exist, and it might be closer/cheaper than where your getting them from now, and from the same climate.