Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > South Florida Hop Growing

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2011, 11:42 PM   #21
edecambra
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 45 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 15

I am not sure why they are a bit brown. It may be the heat. As you know it is still pretty damn hot in the shade at 2 o'clock, but I haven't found the cause yet.

I am still learning too as far as overlapping. I have seen some videos online of people up north and it seems like they let them grow rampant after a bit because they are too hard to tame if you don't have a proper trellis system (with one rope straight up), and they use the hops and brew good beer (so they say).

I don't fertilize regularly. mostly compost, or I should say pre compost, like coffee grounds. I used a long term slow release fertilizer initially, a vegetable fertilizer. I figured that since I will be using them for consumption I was a bit skeptical how a strictly bloom fertilizer would affect (or harm) me or the beer.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2011, 12:25 PM   #22
GetSudz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by edecambra View Post
I figured that since I will be using them for consumption I was a bit skeptical how a strictly bloom fertilizer would affect (or harm) me or the beer.
I don't have much of a green thumb myself, but my brother "reads" plants better than he does books. Being a landscaper helps too.
He said that when some plants flower, they "shift" from a growth stage to a flower stage and need different nutrients during this time frame.

The 3 numbers on the fertilizer indicate Nitrogen-Phosporous-Potassium.
HIGH nitrogen will stimulate growth, but when plants start flowering they need HIGHer Phosporous fertilizers.

Old 12-03-2011, 10:42 PM   #23
edecambra
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes