Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > So my other hobby is plants...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2010, 04:19 AM   #1
pjewell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 2

Default So my other hobby is plants...

I really enjoy the garden. I grow tomatoes, peppers, corn, egg plant, and all the wonderful bounty that exists on Earth.

One thing that is missing is hops. So I researched for a bit and its best to start hops by a rhizome (root) because it takes several seasons to start producing.

I am new to brewing as well. So my question to you is, what are a few hop varieties that you cannot live without or what are a few that are well rounded that can go into many different beers?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2010, 05:18 AM   #2
McKBrew

Recipes 

Liked 31 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 8

It really depends on the beer you make.

A lot of people like the citrusy flavor of Cascades. If your taste is more English style beers, you might consider Fuggles, Goldings, etc....

I planted my hops in large pots. It really only takes about two seasons for them to get going. And with some hops and the right conditions, you can get a good amount first year.

So plant the hops that will fit the type of beers you make.

Make Beer, Not War.

Old 01-16-2010, 05:45 AM   #3
KhellendrosXS
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

If I were to buy and plant it would be

Cascade
Centennial
Fuggle
everything else

Keg1: Rootbeer
Keg2: Gnome Cream Soda
Keg3: Edworts Apfelwein
Keg4: BM's Centenial Blonde
Keg5: BM's Tits Up IIPA

Old 01-16-2010, 05:52 AM   #4
frolickingmonkey
Recipes