New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > Quick Question about Trellis Lines and Ground Stakes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2013, 03:13 PM   #1
PKisNJ
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default Quick Question about Trellis Lines and Ground Stakes

Hi everybody!

To give a quick background this is my first year planting hops and the plants are starting to really take off. I have put up the maypole/teepee style hop trellis with lines running to the stop of a 18' pole. Here is the question. The ground stakes I have are not holding well as the soil is a little too soft and the spikes are a little too short. I want to hang my ground stakes before its too late and could damage the plant if it comes out of the ground.

How can I fix this? Anyone out there that has had this problem?

Should I get longer wooden stakes from home depot? or wider camping tent stakes?

Any help would be appreciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2013, 12:31 AM   #2
mwill07
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 5

this is what I use, but I only have a few vines going.

auger anchor

Old 06-17-2013, 05:14 PM   #3
Daniel1980
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

I had some 1/4 round moulding left over and I cut 2' lengths and put a small wood screw at the top to attach the twine. I started with the jute gardening twine from Lowes....it broke this past sat. I spent a couple hrs re-hanging my 15' cascade. I would recommend using something a little stronger. I replaced it with the braided nylon line from my bow fishing setup. That won't be breaking I'm sure.

Old 06-17-2013, 05:38 PM   #4
day_trippr
Recipes 

Liked 811 Times on 673 Posts