Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > Post your method of choosing when to harvest....not HOW to harvest.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2011, 02:40 PM   #1
BootsyFlanootsy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Post your method of choosing when to harvest....not HOW to harvest.

I'm still learning how to judge the proper time to harvest and thought it'd be a nice idea to have a thread for people to share their experiences/ suggestions/ thoughts on the topic. I know everyone says to wait till the cones go "papery", but maybe some people can share their methods of gauging how far from harvest the cones are by certain stages of the growth etc. Good idea? Y/N?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-15-2011, 05:19 PM   #2
lebshiff21
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

It's so tempting to harvest when they're huge and green, but you really need to wait until you've got a little browning on the edges and they crunch and quickly "rebound" when you squeeze them.

I've just taken out the ladder and scoured bines every few days once I've found a cone or two that was ready.

Old 08-22-2011, 05:38 PM   #3
jmf143
Recipes 

Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Will the hop "fragrance" be detectable from cones still on the bine? If so, does it increase as the hop approaches the best harvest time? Trying to determine if there is a smell test to guide me so I don't harvest too early.

Reason: "to" instead of "too"

Old 08-22-2011, 05:48 PM   #4
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1012 Times on 677 Posts
Likes Given: 28