LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2011, 01:51 AM   #1
Jason438
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Pennsylvania Hops

I am thinking about growing hops in northwest Pa or the western NY region 1 hour south of buffalo has anyone in or around this area had success growing any particular variaty in this region. If so what seemed to grow better than others and what are some good all around hops that you can use in many beer styles. I am fairly new to home brewing myself and have made 6 different extract batches from kits and looking back to the suppy lists they all seem to use different hop types. And I just want to grow something that will also fit well with my hobby not only now but in the future

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2011, 02:01 AM   #2
tippetsnapper
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Because the alpha acid can vary greatly, this year I'll be growing hops for flavor and dry hopping as opposed to bittering. That may be something you want to consider, as I don't plan on sending my hops out for lab analysis to determine their bittering capacity.

"I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal labotomy"

Old 02-13-2011, 02:06 AM   #3
Jason438
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Well I was thinking maybe cascade as they are a pretty good dual pupose hop and i have plans of doing some pale ales Also I was thinking centennial as they are a close cousin as far as taste and aroma but will add a little more AA's to kick it up a notch when I want.

Old 02-13-2011, 02:16 AM   #4
tippetsnapper
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Those are probably both good choices, you could always add them sooner in the boil from brew to brew to get a feel for what type of bittering they are giving you. I'm in the next growing zone but had success last year growing hops in planters, proper soil, fertilizer, and plenty of sun worked out for me.