Obtaining Male hop plants

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

khem1st

Reaction score
Hello everyone!

First of all yes, I realize that male plants are worthless for producing cones to use in brewing. I am however interested in being able to cross breed hop varieties.

As such I would need males to cross with the much easier to find females and I was hoping someone here had a source or could point me in the right direction to acquire male plants. Google searches have failed me thus far. Currently my plan is to obtain a female and stress it so that it will produce the "male parts", stamen? whatever, I am a chemist not a biologist. I can learn all that as I go. However I would much rather take the less risky route and be able to buy a male plant directly.

At any rate I have the resources of the chemistry and biology departments of a local university. Meaning a greenhouse, knowledge I don't have of genetics and breeding, and what I believe to be most important (hopefully) a GCMS (gas chromatography mass spectrometer) to analyze oil contents from the hops. I say hopefully as the GCMS instrument can only detect molecules up to a certain size and many natural products can be quite large. I believe the standard in industry is to use an HPLC or LCMS to analyze hops and/or beer.

Alas, I digress. That is my plan anyway but it of course hinges on being able to get both male and female plants...

Any help (thoughts, suggestions, comments) would be appreciated!
Thanks!