Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > New hop trellis

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2011, 02:20 AM   #1
trigger
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default New hop trellis

This is my first year growing hops, and I jumped in head first. I spent the day today constructing a hop trellis for the 3 rhizomes I planted about 3 weeks ago. I have chinook, cascade, and willamette. The trellis is doubled up 2x4x16 pt construction lumber screwed together with deck screws. I would have gone with 4x4's but they would have doubled the project cost. I ran 1/8" guy lines with turnbuckles to 3/8" rebar that I bent over to form a "u" from each end, and 1/8" cable from the base of each upright through pulleys to form the top line. They are secured with clips to eyebolts. To tension the top line I slacked the guys, clipped it in place, then tightened the turnbuckles. The uprights are 3' down and anchored with about 4 bags each of concrete, as well as being braced to the fence (this was going to be temporary while the concrete set, but I decided to throw some angle straps on there and leave the braces for a bit of additional support. The hops have 2 jute twine strings to climb per rhizome, and each string is about 15' tall.

The power to tax, once conceded, has no limits; it contains until it destroys. I was not joking when I told them to dig into their own pouches. It may not be possible to do away with government — sometimes I think that government is an inescapable disease of human beings. But it may be possible to keep it small and starved and inoffensive — and can you think of a better way than by requiring the governors themselves to pay the costs of their antisocial hobby?

R. A. Heinlein

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-22-2011, 04:07 PM   #2
brewmcq
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes