Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > How many things can you find wrong with this plant.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2012, 10:30 PM   #1
pyrocam
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default How many things can you find wrong with this plant.

Hi, I have been growing my first hops of unknown variety for a few months and things going ok except for a few issues best explained through pictures.

At first I had two pests sucking on the bines. I am not sure if its the same insect at different levels of maturity or different bugs.

I dealt with them with 1 part dishwashing liquid in 20 parts water in a spray bottle. I have to do this every couple of days
also every praying mantis I find go on the plant. I don't know how effective they are to control the whole lot but I do like it when this happens.

I think that spraying in too much sun has caused the leaves and hops to brown. I would love a second opinion

Note on that last picture there is some white webbing type stuff. That is were I found my first tiny green catipillars which could explain why some leaves have large chunks missing. I squash these by hand when I see them. But I was inspecting my hops and I found two hops that had catipillars inside them. I dont know how to get rid of these since I cant spray anything inside the hop, and I cant open every hop to see if there is anything inside them since that will ruin the hop. Any thoughts?

And finally while taking these pictures I found some white spotting on some of the leaves. Its also noticable in the last picture. Not sure what this is.

all pictures + more at high res here (66mb)

Thanks in advance for any thoughts on these problems

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2012, 02:06 AM   #2
jester5120
The Vanilla Gorilla
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 20