Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > How many bines per crown?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-07-2010, 03:42 PM   #1
HoppyDaze
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
HoppyDaze's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilsonville, OR
Posts: 8,241
Liked 1151 Times on 873 Posts
Likes Given: 621

Default How many bines per crown?

I understand that only two or three bines should be growing up one string, but how many strings can I use for each plant? I have a willamette that is shooting up some seriously thick bines and it seems to be extremely healthy and seems like I should grow more than just two or three bines from it. Should I set up more ropes for this crown?

__________________
"Dad, Bob broke your beer!"

*Member: The HBT Sweaty Fat Guys Cigar club

Advice for posting
HoppyDaze is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2010, 03:44 PM   #2
GilaMinumBeer
In yo' garage, steelin' yo parts.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
GilaMinumBeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 47,297
Liked 4686 Times on 4343 Posts
Likes Given: 57

Default

Sure. Try it.

the hardest part is keeping the drop lines far apart enough and still vertical so that the plant self trains and doesn't jump ropes or tangle all the side arms up into a mess.

As for me, I usually train up 6 bines per crown. 3 per drop line.

Tried 4 once and the resulting plant was too bushy and unmanageable.

__________________
GilaMinumBeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2010, 03:45 PM   #3
Randar
Damn right I got da brews
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Randar's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 28,686
Liked 4589 Times on 4494 Posts
Likes Given: 2040

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HoppyDaze View Post
I understand that only two or three bines should be growing up one string, but how many strings can I use for each plant? I have a willamette that is shooting up some seriously thick bines and it seems to be extremely healthy and seems like I should grow more than just two or three bines from it. Should I set up more ropes for this crown?
It depends on the size of the crown, IMO. You want to focus the energy of the plant into a few primary bines. The more bines, the more competition for water and nutrients from the root ball. I have seen reference to more bines = less overall production, but I don't have first hand experience with it. I haven't messed with the convention and go with 2-3 bines per string and 2 strings per crown, which is in line with commercial practices.
__________________
Randar is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crown cap labels EvilTOJ Label Display & Discussion 13 04-08-2011 06:46 PM
what to do with no buds on hop crown yet? smalltown2001 Hops Growing 1 05-12-2009 02:17 PM
Crown cap printing kingoslo Label Display & Discussion 24 04-20-2009 08:50 AM
Transplanting a crown. Ridemywideglide Hops Growing 3 10-10-2008 01:45 AM
Crown Caps 80/- Bottling/Kegging 3 05-16-2005 08:05 PM