Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > The hop shortage

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2008, 08:27 PM   #341
caskconditioned
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

What kind of yield can you expect from one plant for the first year (assuming conditions are good)?

I also just read that India's consumption of beer is growing like crazy, and along with Chinese, they will create a shortage for many years to come.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2008, 12:00 AM   #342
Brew Runner
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

It depends on what kind of hops you're growing to begin with. Some are abundant producers naturally, some aren't.

I'm not a pro, but I would guess roughly one pound per plant in the first season if the stars are in alignment. The good thing is that hops multiply, so you can cut your own rhizomes and plant more.....and more, and more, and more.

I need to get some high alpha rhizome varieties this month.

Old 02-09-2008, 12:46 AM   #343
Professor Frink

Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts

I just went to my LHBS today, and they had pretty much everything in stock (except for EKG). They attributed it to their new policy of 3 oz. maximum of hops for each batch you buy ingredients for. It's been working out great for me, every few batches I have enough leftover hops for a higher hopped batch.

On tap:Amber Ale
Milk Stout

Lagering:

http://www.lazydogbrewery.com

Old 02-10-2008, 03:22 PM   #344
foxtrot
Recipes 

Anyone out there think the "hop shortage" is a scam? (I love a good conspiracy). I was at my LHBS and they had a fairly good selection and only charging $2 an oz. Said they have no supply issues. You know how gas prices shoot up when there's a hurricane near oil rigs??? And then we hear about record profits 6 months later... Hmmm.

Old 02-10-2008, 05:25 PM   #345
Austinhomebrew
Recipes 

Liked 107 Times on 87 Posts
Likes Given: 90

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxtrot