Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > Going to start growing hops

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2010, 06:40 PM   #11
Dixon
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

I have zero experience here so disregard if this is way off.

Seems to me you could put heavy duty pulleys at the top of each pole and use cranks (like the ones on boat trailors) to lower the trellis at harvest.

Could this work?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2010, 06:43 PM   #12
Dixon
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Chip and I had the same idea it looks like

Old 10-14-2010, 06:47 PM   #13
chip82
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Dixon, that is what i was kinda thinking, something similar to that.

funkswing, One of the state universities has a ton of info on frost dates, i think here we might be able to squeeze 2 harvests in, just depending on the year. So, i guess right now i am looking for a system where I can get multiple harvests off of each vine

Old 10-14-2010, 07:03 PM   #14
lurker18
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Quote:
Originally Posted by chip82 View Post
One method i have been toying with in my head is to have some sort of pulley system on top of the poles that is attached to the top of the twine so i could raise and lower the hops for picking. I am not sure how effective this system could be, though.
That is what I was talking about, and how I do it. The pulleys allow you to raise and lower the wire right to the ground for stringing and harvesting.

Old 10-15-2010, 03:17 AM   #15
B-Hoppy
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 132 Times on 105 Posts
Likes Given: 230

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkswing View Post
B-Hoppy: I don't think I get what you are saying. Did you cut down the thin trees to make extensions for the poles? Or are the pipes attached to the trees by a wire/twine? What is the total height of your bines?
funkswing,