HBT 2014 Big Giveaway - 4/10 Re-Draw Winners Posted!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > do not worry about poor growing 1st year palnts

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2008, 07:17 PM   #11
DrinksWellWithOthers
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Did anyone plant any Willamette this year? This is my first attempt at growing hops and my Willamette is only about 6 or 7 ft tall but not flowering. My cascades, on the other hand, are over 13 ft have tons of hops and my Centennial is just starting to flower.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2008, 08:12 PM   #12
balto charlie

Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrinksWellWithOthers View Post
Did anyone plant any Willamette this year? This is my first attempt at growing hops and my Willamette is only about 6 or 7 ft tall but not flowering. My cascades, on the other hand, are over 13 ft have tons of hops and my Centennial is just starting to flower.
same results for me. My Cascade and Nugget rhizomes were huge and produce well for 1st year plants, Willamette looks good but only 8 ft tall no buds, hallertauer and fuggles 6 ft and struggling. I think rhizome condition and variety will produce different results. I contacted a hop researcher from Oregon and he recommended Cascade, Nugget, cluster and another variety as good growers. he was right about cascade and nugget. charlie
edit: the rhizomes from the haller and Fugs were scrawny, the Willamette was better but not as big as C & N

Primary
On Deck Red IPA

Last edited by balto charlie; 09-02-2008 at 08:14 PM.

Old 09-03-2008, 12:54 AM   #13
scinerd3000
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 29