Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > Cascade vs Hallertau

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-12-2009, 11:15 AM   #1
Lefty
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Cascade vs Hallertau

This is my first year growing hops. I have these two varieties planted and growing happily in the back yard. The Cascade broke ground and shot up 2 feet in as many weeks. No big suprise there. It came up as one bine and started sprouting into multiple bines off the one that broke ground. No worries, they are all happy to climb the two twine runs I set up.

My Hallertau is a different story. It was much lazier in breaking through and lazy in growing. Took better part of two months to reach the twine about 10 inches off the ground. It has since broke ground in different spots. About 5 different places where it is coming through the ground. And none of them are much taller than 2 feet.

Is this a variety difference between the two hop rhizomes? I know I should prune back to 3 or so bines to allow them to grow, but in doing that I will be cutting a LOT of the Hallertau. Being this is the first year growth, should I no prune and let them be...see what happens with them?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2009, 02:11 PM   #2
johnnyc
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts

I'm seeing the same thing with Cascade vs Fuggle. From what I can tell its tough to compare any other variety to the speed of Cascade. I planted mine the same day about 3 weeks ago and the Cascade is about 10" high and the Fuggle is maybe 2". I picked up a book, The homebrewers garden, and have a better idea of what varieties grow best at home. Speed, hardiness, yield, etc.

Kegged: Hoppy Amber, ESB, Weizenbock, Breakfast Stout, IPA

Fermenting: Yooper's Oktoberfest

Old 06-12-2009, 02:46 PM   #3
conpewter
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes