The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > Alpha Acids Percentage of Common hops?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-17-2008, 02:42 AM   #1
celtic_man81
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Alpha Acids Percentage of Common hops?

Hello, I bought a common hops plant about 2 or 3 years ago. This year they finally grew cones, and damn do they take over a garden quick! I am new to growing hops, just point out. However, I wanted to know what the A.A percentage usually is for common hops. I've looked around the Internet, but haven't had any luck for this one.

I have tasted them (against advice, but it wasn't that bad) they seemed bitter enough, and they had a spicy bite to them, sort of like a weak hot sauce. They also had astringency to them as well.

Also, I have dried out a good lot of them by sandwiching them between aluminum door screening, and stapling them semi-tight (sort of like blister packs). Is this ok? I have heard of a method some-what like this, but involving a wooden frame, and nylon screening. I have them drying out in the cellar, and I will be checking in on them in October.

Thanks for any info you can give.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-17-2008, 03:26 AM   #2
the_bird
10th-Level Beer Nerd
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 352 Times on 290 Posts
Likes Given: 93

There's such a variation, even from year to year from the same variety, that I don't think there's any way of really answering this. Hell, it was either Fuggles or EKG or something like that which came in at 1% last year. They aren't going to be one of the high-alpha varities, but realistically I would think you could be anywhere from 2% to 8%, far too big a range to be able to effectively "guess" for bitterring purposes.