*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brewing Software > iBrewmaster and steeping grains
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2012, 06:33 PM   #1
Tiredboy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kingston, Jamaica
Posts: 200
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default iBrewmaster and steeping grains

I've just downloaded iBrewmaster for my iPad and tried to put in my first recipe. I may be being stoopid but I can't seem to work out how to add grains for steeping only. I'm an extract brewer with only one brew under my belt but I want to put it into ibrewmaster for future reference. I tried inputing another recipe but it gives very different results to those listed by the poster (IBU, colour, OG).

Now I assume it is becuase of steeping grains and I've probably done something wrong but any help would be appreciated.

Equally, if anyone has any recipes in iBrewmaster they'd recomend I love to be pointed in the right direction (I am sure that there are a lot of "bad" recipes in circulation)

__________________
Tiredboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2012, 07:57 PM   #2
Pappers_
Moderator
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Pappers_'s Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 11,773
Liked 940 Times on 667 Posts
Likes Given: 2009

Default

Beersmith has a field where you choose whether the recipe is all-grain, partial mash, or extract - for this, you would choose extract. Perhaps iBrewmaster has a similar field?

Pappers_ is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2012, 09:19 PM   #3
Retrofit
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 810
Liked 16 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Ibrewmaster does have this option under type. If you pick partial mash, the you can add grains and time. I believe under mash you could specify time and temp.

__________________
Retrofit is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2012, 12:23 PM   #4
aryoung1980
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 322
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

You'll need to go into SETUP and add the steeping to your MASH STEPS. Once it's in there you'll always be able to pull it up for your recipes.

image-147061585.jpg  
__________________
aryoung1980 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2012, 11:26 AM   #5
jr82
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 15
Default

I put a recipe together using the extract setting and just adding the grains in the fermentables section. Then I did it adding a mash step for the steeping, and didn't see any change. Am I missing something, or isn't adding the mash step for steeping necessary? I would think the extract setting would know any added grains are steeped. Other than figuring this issue out, I'm liking the software so far.

__________________
jr82 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2012, 03:26 PM   #6
jr82
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 15
Default

I think I answered my own question. If you look at the NB extract recipes included with the App, steeping grains are just included in fermentables without any mash steps. I'll assume those are accurate.

__________________
jr82 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iBrewmaster steeping grains?? suttonjs2 Brewing Software 1 08-11-2011 08:02 PM
Steeping grains in BrewPal? Pixalated Brewing Software 1 02-21-2011 07:00 PM
iBrewMaster for iPad MC-Hokie Brewing Software 9 08-18-2010 07:08 PM
BeerSmith wants to mash my steeping grains (PM) Greyhound Brewing Software 4 10-29-2009 04:32 PM
Beertools - Steeping grains? Eskimo Spy Brewing Software 3 08-11-2008 09:17 PM