Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brewing Software > I think I discovered what causes my efficiency issues.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2012, 06:15 PM   #1
kh54s10
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tiverton, Rhode Island
Posts: 7,154
Liked 679 Times on 576 Posts
Likes Given: 173

Default I think I discovered what causes my efficiency issues.

Using Beersmith 2 I have been getting varying efficiency. I think I have finally tracked this down.

I have made my equipment profile and it looks like sometimes I leave the batch size alone and on others I have changed it to the amount I wanted in the fermenter.

I figured batch size would be the final amount but looking closer I see that to get 5.25 gallons "in fermenter" the batch size is 5.75 gallons.

Now I have to wait til next week to confirm that this was my problem.

__________________
kh54s10 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2012, 06:41 PM   #2
MichaelBrock
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
MichaelBrock's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alachua, FL
Posts: 485
Liked 30 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 38

Default

According to Beersmith, the "Batch Size" field is the volume "as measured into the fermenter" and that agrees with my experience.

__________________
MichaelBrock is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2012, 07:19 PM   #3
kh54s10
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tiverton, Rhode Island
Posts: 7,154
Liked 679 Times on 576 Posts
Likes Given: 173

Default

Maybe I have worded things a little wrong. In the equipment profile I set the batch size to 5.75 gallons and that gives 5.25 gallons for bottling.

I then manually changed the batch size on the recipe page to 5.25 gallons. So I think I am diluting the recipe. As I am still collecting 7 gallons to get 5.25 in the fermenter.

Am I wrong?

__________________
kh54s10 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2012, 07:54 PM   #4
MichaelBrock
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
MichaelBrock's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alachua, FL
Posts: 485
Liked 30 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 38

Default

The "batch volume" in the profile serves as a default for recipes when you choose the particular profile. If you then change it on the recipe page Beersmith will adjust the numbers on the recipe page (and elsewhere) to adjust to that new volume. So regardless of what you select as the "batch volume" in the equipment profile, if you enter 5.25 as the "Batch Size" on the recipe design page Beersmith will change the recipe numbers to suite that volume. So, yes, if you're collecting 7 gallons of wort and ending up with a batch size of 5.75 gallons but Beersmith has calculated your grain bill expecting a 5.25 batch then your OG will definitely be low.

__________________
MichaelBrock is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BeerSmith Issues mlevings12 Brewing Software 14 08-24-2012 02:53 PM
BeerSmith IBU issues scottyg354 Brewing Software 2 12-10-2011 11:59 PM
Issues with Beer Tools Pro mjatrucker Brewing Software 0 07-21-2011 03:19 PM
beersmith issues skyebrewing Brewing Software 6 10-12-2010 07:10 AM
Ingredients On BeerSmith Issues Maveric777 Brewing Software 3 01-24-2009 03:49 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS