Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brewing Software > Draughtcraft.com - New Online Recipe Tool

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-28-2011, 01:06 AM   #1
rpetrello
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Draughtcraft.com - New Online Recipe Tool

Hey Folks,

I'm a professional software developer that loves making beer and loves to tinker with software, too. Months ago, I started looking for available software to create, share, and manage my recipes. I tried out some of the popular solutions (Beersmith, BeerAlchemy, Hopville, etc...), and finally realized I wasn't finding exactly what I was looking for:

1. Dead simple software. The ability to build, tweak, and share a recipe quickly. I don't run a professional brewery, and I don't stress over the details of a recipe; I just want to have fun planning a recipe, not build a space shuttle.
2. Recipes that focus on the *process* of brewing, not just a big list of ingredients. I want software that makes the process of the brew day clear.
3. The ability to easily share and search for new recipes.

There are already existing apps that do some of these things, and they're great options that I've used consistently for awhile. I wanted a bit more control, though, and now a weekend project has blossomed into a free service:

http://www.draughtcraft.com/

A few notes, for now:

* Draughtcraft lets you build and publicly share unlimited recipes online.
* You don't have to sign up to start building a recipe.
* The service is currently in "beta", which means that if you care to give it a shot, it's possible that you'll notice bugs. I plan to regularly resolve known issues and add new features as time allows.
* I may offer premium accounts at some point to recover hosting expenses, and if the service costs money in the future, I plan to at least provide some form of grandfathered state for earlier beta users/adopters.

So give it a spin and please give me your feedback.