LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2011, 06:43 PM   #1
Nateo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 37 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Default Bru'n water

I did a search and it looked like no one has mentioned this yet, so forgive me if there's another thread about this already.

I just downloaded Bru'n Water, from https://sites.google.com/site/brunwater/

It's really the best water calculator I've used, and it actually gives useful mash pH calculations. I hit my target pH on the nose in one shot!

To paraphrase Dr. England - "Off-flavors smooth with time. So do mountains. Brew it right from the start!"

My blogsite: http://nateobrew.blogspot.com/

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2011, 12:04 AM   #2
mabrungard
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 184 Times on 161 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Sorry for not posting on this forum earlier. I've been a long time HBD subscriber and AHA member and Tech Talk subscriber, but I'm relatively new to the various forums.

Bru'n Water is unique in that it goes beyond the typical brewing water calculator. It allows the brewer to input the actual grain billed used in the mash and estimate its total acidity. That acidity is contrasted with the alkalinity provided by the mashing water and is used to estimate a mash pH. This is a much more exacting approach to pH estimation. Mash pH does have to strong influence on the fermentability, body, and crispness of the finished beer.

In addition, the program includes a comprehensive section on Water Knowledge to help the brewer understand what they're doing and how to accomplish their brewing goals.

I invite interested brewers to take a look at the program at the link shown in my signature line below. The program is an Excel spreadsheet, but anyone can install the open-source software Open Office that will also run the program.

Enjoy.

Martin B
Carmel, IN
BJCP National
Foam Blowers of Indiana (FBI)

Brewing Water Information at: