Originally Posted by ocluke
I still can't see a "copy to brew log" button. I also can find no documentation in the Beersmith help section for what the "Version" up/down buttons in a recipe do. It allows you to click up and down (e.g. 1.0, 1.1, 1.2, etc.). Does this save a new version if I click save after changing the recipe version number? Do I still have a copy of the previous version?
When you change the revision number of a recipe, and allow it to save under another name (when you hit the 'ok' button) you'll see another recipe listed with the rev number after it (like 1.1)...
Personally, I number the recipe by which batch it is. So if I'm brewing an earlier brew again, it gets a new leading number. To get this, I simply copy/paste the recipe from the 'brewed' directory to the 'on deck' directory in BeerSmith and renumber/rename it. Very easy there.
Do what you need to help your record keeping. If you're working out a recipe and have a few different versions you're thinking about brewing, then the rev number option makes a lot of sense. Once you've brewed it, and are looking to brew it again with some tweaks, I'd have a new recipe entry for it.