Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brewing Software > Beersmith 2.1 - How to Add Grain To Account for Lower Efficiency?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2012, 01:32 AM   #1
chays99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Heath, Tx
Posts: 71
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Beersmith 2.1 - How to Add Grain To Account for Lower Efficiency?

I'm averaging around 65% brewhouse efficiency. I want to brew the Lake Walk Pale Ale soon, but want to increase my grain bill due to my low efficiency. To do this, do I enter the recipe exactly as described, then select "my equipment" (which is set up for my gear), and then adjust the original gravity to match the recipe?

In other words, when I do the steps above, Beersmith calculates an original gravity of 1.047. The recipe calls for an original gravity of 1.055. At this point, do I manually adjust the original gravity to 1.055? When I do, the grain bill is increased to account for the low efficiency.

Sorry if this is a repeat question. I searched, but couldn't find the answer.

Thanks in advance!

__________________
chays99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2012, 01:52 AM   #2
JeepDiver
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 1,322
Liked 143 Times on 112 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Put the recipe in as designed with the efficiency they give (if there isn't one go with 72 or 75, at least that seems to be the norm for me). Then.select Scale and leave the gallons the same but put in your efficiency

__________________
JeepDiver is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2012, 01:58 AM   #3
chumpsteak
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Meridian, ID
Posts: 847
Liked 92 Times on 78 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

I believe that you can use the "convert" feature to change efficiency and beersmith will automatically change your grain amounts to make up for the difference. Try entering the original recipe and then use the convert feature to change to your brewhouse efficiency. You may have to adjust hops manually, just keep an eye on the ibus before and after you use the convert option.

__________________
chumpsteak is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-13-2012, 11:53 PM   #4
chays99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Heath, Tx
Posts: 71
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

The covert function did it. Thanks forbthe responses.

__________________
chays99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Efficiency value in BeerSmith pretzelb Brewing Software 12 08-24-2012 09:34 PM
Beersmith - getting efficiency right stratslinger Brewing Software 9 07-06-2012 12:56 AM
Which efficiency do you report in Beersmith? GroosBrewz Brewing Software 3 01-14-2010 07:23 PM
Beersmith Efficiency Mountainbeers Brewing Software 8 09-25-2009 01:52 AM
Does BEERSMITH figure efficiency? ZooBrew Brewing Software 10 05-26-2009 11:31 PM