Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brewing Software > Beer Tools Pro vs. Beer Alchemy

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-23-2011, 01:48 AM   #41
a_w_taylor
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, CT
Posts: 169
Default

Wow - MusselDoc - changing ur post? Got a vendetta?

__________________

It's cold, tasty and I made it.

a_w_taylor is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2011, 08:58 AM   #42
MX1
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
MX1's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 913
Liked 41 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 68

Default

If needed I have the original post from MD. Some of the ohter boards I am on really frown upon removing content, so if it is needed here. let me know.

I will say that in the last 24 hours I have had 3 different exchanges with Steve, trying to figure out what seems to be a bug on my end.

I could not ask for more in the world of customer service at all.

Tim

__________________

"The ART of brewing Beer, is the ACT of brewing Beer"

Ferm 1 - Amber Ale
Ferm 2
On Deck - Milk/Coffee Stout
Keg 1:
Keg 2:

Total Gallons brewed (2014) - 10

MX1 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2011, 09:24 AM   #43
steve_flack
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 29
Default

Here is the entire email conversation with him. You can decide if I was rude or not. The only edits have been for his email address and the overlong email signature...

Quote:

A business that takes pleasure in refunding money is doomed to fail.
It's a shame that you were incapable of simply being polite to a
customer. Do not contact me about this matter again.

xxx


On Feb 22, 2011, at 5:05 PM, Support - Kent Place Software wrote:

> Done…with pleasure. Your serial number is now deactivated and your
> payment will be returned shortly.
>
> Steve Flack
> Kent Place Software
>


> From: <removed>
> Date: Tue, 22 Feb 2011 16:01:29 -0500
> To: Steve Flack <support@kentplacesoftware.com>
> Subject: Re: Recipe update
>
> How about you just refund my money. Plenty of other good programs
> out there. My order number is: ST74480837
>
> xxx
>

>
>
> On Feb 22, 2011, at 3:52 PM, Support - Kent Place Software wrote:
>
>> I do get your point but I'm sorry, it doesn't work that way. If the
>> batch is wrong you will need to change both the batch and the
>> recipe. Alternatively you can delete a batch and create a new one
>> then it will pick up the changes. The situation where you would
>> change a recipe and NOT want the batch to change is more likely in
>> my opinion. You might have made edits to the recipe in the batch
>> you didn't want changed. This is why the app works the way it
>> does. If you disagree then you are entitled to, but don't assume
>> that because you do that my position is wrong. I'm not changing the
>> way the app works to suit the whims of one user.
>>
>> If you think I'm being rude then you are mistaken. I was explaining
>> the situation.
>>
>> Steve Flack
>> Kent Place Software
>>
>> From: <removed>
>> Date: Tue, 22 Feb 2011 15:34:28 -0500
>> To: Steve Flack <support@kentplacesoftware.com>
>> Subject: Re: Recipe update
>>
>> Yes I would. I guess you are not understanding the point. If you
>> type in 10 into the grain bill and it automatically inputs 10
>> ounces instead of 10 lbs, then when you correct this error, you
>> would want it to update. If you do not catch the error for a batch
>> or two, then all of your calcs will be wrong. So, while you
>> actually use 10 lbs of grain, the program only reads 10 ounces.
>> You would want the batch to update based on the correct original
>> recipe. This is not after the fact changes to the intent of the
>> recipe. Subsequent changes are made in the subsequent batches, but
>> corrections to the original recipe need to be linked to the batch
>> so they are actively updated and accurate.
>>
>> I feel there is a real need for this, especially since the program
>> auto-updates or scales the recipe based on other functions you may
>> click. For example, if you change water volumes, it will modify
>> the recipe. Even if you used the original amount of grain, your
>> calcs are off because the program made adjustments. you should be
>> able to input the correct information, and the recipe should be
>> linked back to the original so that the cals will always be correct.
>>
>> Please do not make any more off-the-cuff retorts. Your tone is
>> rude and you clearly didn't understand my original question.
>>
>> xxx
>>
>>

>>
>> On Feb 22, 2011, at 3:22 PM, Support - Kent Place Software wrote:
>>
>>> They don't update. That's the point. If you brewed a recipe would
>>> you want a subsequent change in the parent recipe to change a
>>> batch you'd already brewed? The batch is the recipe at the time
>>> the batch was created. After that they can be edited independently
>>> (and in your case will have to be).
>>>
>>> Cheers
>>>
>>> Steve Flack
>>> Kent Place Software
>>>
>>> From: <removed>
>>> Date: Tue, 22 Feb 2011 14:54:25 -0500
>>> To: Steve Flack <support@kentplacesoftware.com>
>>> Subject: Recipe update
>>>
>>> Hello,
>>>
>>> My question is concerning recipes and batches in Beer Alchemy. I
>>> created a recipe, then started a batch of a particular recipe. I
>>> found that I had input a wrong amount into the original recipe, so
>>> I corrected this in the original recipe but it failed to update
>>> the target values (based on the correction) in the batch. So, the
>>> target OG and FG values in my batch session is incorrect based on
>>> the modification to the original recipe. How do I get the batches
>>> to update if I make a change to the original recipe?
>>>
>>> xxx
>>>
__________________

Last edited by Yuri_Rage; 02-25-2011 at 12:13 AM. Reason: removed names
steve_flack is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2011, 11:11 AM   #44
artguy
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 190
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a_w_taylor View Post
...would love to know my thermal mass, but I have 2 little kids and don't have the time to calculate for my 5 gal rubbermaid...
One thing about this: if you pre-heat your mash tun (I pour in the mash water a bit above strike temperature, close the top, and let it sit 5 minutes), then you can input the the thermal mass as zero.

It's the only software I've used so I can't compare, but I love working with BA.
__________________
artguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2011, 11:27 AM   #45
a_w_taylor
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, CT
Posts: 169
Default

Thx artguy - I did pick that up somewhere and used it on my last batch.

__________________

It's cold, tasty and I made it.

a_w_taylor is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2011, 11:32 AM   #46
MX1
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
MX1's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 913
Liked 41 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 68

Default

Steve,

Not sure where it all fell apart, but you and your software is top notch in my book.

Tim

__________________

"The ART of brewing Beer, is the ACT of brewing Beer"

Ferm 1 - Amber Ale
Ferm 2
On Deck - Milk/Coffee Stout
Keg 1:
Keg 2:

Total Gallons brewed (2014) - 10

MX1 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2011, 11:46 AM   #47
Airborneguy
Adjunct of the Law
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Airborneguy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Isle of Staten
Posts: 10,855
Liked 838 Times on 621 Posts
Likes Given: 1104

Default

I wouldn't want that change either, for the exact reason Steve stated. I frequently change my recipes, pretty much every time I brew them, and want the batches to reflect what was brewed at the time. Obviously this guy didn't get Steve's response and understand why you wouldn't want what he proposed to happen.

__________________
Fermentor(s):
Lagering:
Bottled: Atonement Brown Porter
Airborneguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2011, 12:08 PM   #48
MX1
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
MX1's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 913
Liked 41 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 68

Default

I am sure it was just an inability to communicate ideas across the spectrum of text and type.

Tim

__________________

"The ART of brewing Beer, is the ACT of brewing Beer"

Ferm 1 - Amber Ale
Ferm 2
On Deck - Milk/Coffee Stout
Keg 1:
Keg 2:

Total Gallons brewed (2014) - 10

MX1 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2011, 12:18 PM   #49
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 21,890
Liked 934 Times on 621 Posts
Likes Given: 28

Default

No, I don't believe Steve was rude at all. Someone got really anxious because a particular function didn't work the way they thought it should and the developer clearly explained why it doesn't. Frankly, this is another example of why this rather arbitrary recipe -> batch hierarchy fails. I'd like to know how many people see value here. Sure, I've brewed batches a second time based on a given recipe, but what's the big deal naming the first file awesome_apa_1 and the followup one awesome_apa_2?

__________________
BrewHardware.com
Sightglass, Refractometer, Ball Valve, Weldless bulkhead, Thermometer, Decals, Stainless Steel Fittings, Compression Fittings, Camlock Quick Disconnects, Scale, RIMS tube, Plate Chiller, Chugger Pump, Super Clear Silicone Tubing, and more!

New Stuff?
Bobby_M is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2011, 12:29 PM   #50
Beerrific
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Beerrific's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 5,600
Liked 45 Times on 37 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Yeah, if that was rude, I am not sure what not-rude would be. I have emailed Steve a few times and he has always gotten back to me and even addressed most of my issues in later updates.

Honestly, is the batch feature somewhat new? I used Beer Alchemy for about a year before I even knew that feature existed. I just fix my recipe exactly how I want to do it and when I brew if I am off I just note it in the notes. Maybe I will work on using the batch feature.

I don't buy much software and I would have to say this might be the only software I have bought that I am actually happy to own. Now, Steve, anyway I could convince you to develop a compatible app for Android? Yeah, didn't think so, oh well.

__________________
Beerrific is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beer Alchemy help EamusCatuli Brewing Software 3 03-25-2013 03:14 AM
Beer Alchemy fusion94 Brewing Software 6 02-23-2011 07:33 PM
Beer Alchemy tun t/m? chirs Brewing Software 3 10-31-2009 07:12 PM
Beer Alchemy Laurel Brewing Software 4 09-11-2008 10:04 PM
Beer Alchemy or Beer Tools Pro? Professor Frink Brewing Software 3 03-01-2008 12:42 AM