Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Cider > Graff (Malty, slightly hopped cider)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-27-2012, 12:39 AM   #1841
Tubbster85
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

What do you back sweeten with?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2012, 12:53 AM   #1842
buellulysses
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Hello all, new to the scene I live in Central MA so raw cider is plentiful here so I only use that. Made a few batches of dry apflewine and loved it but i wanted to try something diferent. Just brewed a batch if this but I'm not good at following recipes. Just wanted to know how you guys think this will turn out?

5gallons of raw sweet cider from the mill down the street
.5lb of torified wheat
2lbs amber DME
1cup real maple syrup
1oz fuggle hops (4.6 AA)
Nottingham ale yeast

I forgot the crystal 60/120l and the LHBS was closed so I left it out.

Will it be too bitter with this much hops?
How will the absence if crystal 60l affect the head retention?
is .5 lb of wheat way too much?

Old 10-31-2012, 06:02 PM   #1843
mike_in_ak
Recipes 

Liked 84 Times on 52 Posts

Gonna be a wild ride, should be interesting results to post about later. People talk about torrified wheat going crazy at 2 oz. Crystal is for residual sweetness, without it there will be remaining sweetness. Usual hops is a quarter of what you uses, so obviously yours will be more bitter. Which should compound the lack of crystal.

But I bet whatever you get will be drinkable, if not good. And if it's too bitter, you could always backsweeten.

Old 10-31-2012, 10:27 PM   #1844
Tubbster85
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts