Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Cider > Dave's Carmel Apple Cider

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2013, 02:56 PM   #201
sar_dog_1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 2

gonna try a one gallon baych tonite!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2013, 05:21 PM   #202
TechyDork
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerald46
This is my first try at cider and I followed the recipe exactly. The cider has been in the bottles 13 days. Last night one of the bottles exploded in the closet I had them stored in. It scared my wife so bad she wouldn't walk down the hall until I covered the bottles up with a beach towel. Today I took one of the bottles which had been in the fridge for 2 days outside and opened it. The cider foamed out until I poured some in a glass. There was also a lot of floating sediment in the bottle. The cider had a very good flavor but didn't really taste like caramel or cinnamon. My thought is the cinnamon and caramel is in the sediment. I put all of the bottles in wine buckets with lids in case more explode. The cider tastes too good to lose, but I'm afraid more bottles will explode. Is there anything I can do to save it? The campden tablets apparently didn't stop the fermentation. What can I do differently next time?
How long did you wait after adding the tablets? Did you crush them and use 1 per gallon?

I usually give the tablets 48 hours or so and then back sweeten and keg. I think with bottles I would try to cold crash for a few days before bottling. Just to try and get as much yeast out of suspension as possible. Personally I would not recommend bottling a sweet cider.

Old 11-11-2013, 02:26 PM   #203
rjthomas21
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts