Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Cider > 5 Day Sweet Country Cider

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2012, 02:00 AM   #171
sburggsx
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 2

a) Nice label.

b) I've been searching for cider for about 3 weeks now. Finally found some at Whole Foods. Pasteurized but all natural. Bought half of what they had.

Followed the recipe exactly and it's sitting on noddy now. OG was 1.064ish at 68*. This is my first try at cider so I hope it turns out well!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2012, 02:36 AM   #172
Zippox
Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 13

I wish I knew what 1.040 tasted like. I feel like that would be crazy sweet so I am planning on bottling at 1.020, but I don't really know what that would taste like either. Shucks, looks like I'll have to make another batch of cider to find out

Old 09-09-2012, 03:51 AM   #173
Watson383
Recipes 

Woodchuck cider has a gravity of 1.022. I don't know if that helps you or not.

Old 09-09-2012, 04:03 AM   #174
Zippox
Recipes 

Actually that does, thanks for posting that.

Old 09-12-2012, 11:32 PM   #175
ong
Recipes 

Liked 118 Times on 93 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I made this a few days ago, using cheap Fred Meyer house brand concentrated apple juice in a 3 gallon Better Bottle. Fermentation was just under 3 days (to get to 1.04), and the bottles carbed up within 4 hours. Actually they were a bit more highly carbed then I would have preferred by then! Pasteurized them in 190 degree water, and they came out great. This is definitely a different flavor from commercial ciders -- much more of a fresh apple juice flavor. Really delicious, though, and *extremely* easy and inexpensive. I'm starting another batch (on the same cake) with about 10 ounces of fresh squeezed ginger juice in 3 gallons of apple juice.

Old 09-13-2012, 07:04 PM   #176
sburggsx
Recipes 

Likes Given: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by sburggsx View Post