Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Cider > 5 Day Sweet Country Cider

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-20-2012, 04:53 AM   #151
Axis
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

This is my first time brewing so you could imagine my surprise when I found out that my batch actually turned out perfect. I just pulled a bottle from one of my batches and it tasted great it's still a bit sweet and after it's carbonated and cold tastes amazing thanks for sharing this awesome recipe

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2012, 05:46 PM   #152
scottsaxman
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 4

First time cider brewer here, though I have brewed a few batches of all grain beer. I am hoping to make only one gallon of this just to see what it is like and get a little experience. However, I have a yeast question. Nottingham is almost $5, while champagne yeast is 75 cents. Can I use the champagne yeast without ill effect, assuming I pasteurized to stop the fermentation in the bottle?

Old 06-22-2012, 12:04 AM   #153
scottsaxman
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Well, my cider is complete. It tasted quite foul right out of the fermenter - very yeasty. I bottled it and waited about 3 days, then pasteurized. It should have waited a few more days, as it happens, but it is very lightly carbonated (like, if you pay attention, you will see some bubbles). After about a week or so, it finally tastes OK out of the refrigerator. Not sweet exactly, but not terribly dry. I think I caught it at 1.004, but I had a hard time getting a solid read. It is tart and pretty refreshing. All in all, forgiving my n00b brewz0r skillz, it seems like a decent deal. This was my first stab at cider and I learned a lot.

Old 06-22-2012, 04:33 AM   #154
MeadWitch
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Interesting recipe.

Tertiary: Sweet Dried Cherry/Vanilla Mead, Prickly Pear Mead, Jalapeno-Peach Sweet Mead