Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Mead > Raspberry Melamel (Bronze Medal winner at 2010 Great Arizona Homebrew Competition)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-27-2012, 01:12 AM   #71
lpsumo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Hi all, I am a rookie and have a few questions.

Nutrients: I went out looking for the nutrients mentioned in the FAQ but came back with a package called "yeast nutrient" Ingredients: DAP, vitamin b complex, magnesium sulphate. When the faq says "At inoculation - 4.5g Superfood (or Fermaid-K) & 4.5g DAP" should i use 9 grams of my yeast nutrient?

Mixing: Is the procedure to just put it all in the carboy and mix it? No starting the yeast, no heating the honey?

Thanks for the tips

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2012, 08:24 PM   #72
Recipes 

I'm thinking of making a batch of this. I'm wondering if i should add the lemon and lime at the beginning of fermentation or after. I'm thinking the acidity might hurt the fermentation in some way. Would this matter?

Old 11-01-2012, 09:39 PM   #73
fun4stuff
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1776 View Post
I'm thinking of making a batch of this. I'm wondering if i should add the lemon and lime at the beginning of fermentation or after. I'm thinking the acidity might hurt the fermentation in some way. Would this matter?
After I added the lemon and lime to the primary, I indeed did read that it can hurt the fermentation by changing the pH. However, I had no problems with fermentation. While I did not measure pH, it must not affect it enough to stop lavlin D47. It went very quickly with daily aerating and adding nutrients as described in the FAQ.

Old 11-01-2012, 09:47 PM   #74
fun4stuff
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by lpsumo View Post
Hi all, I am a rookie and have a few questions.