Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Mead > Pumpkin Pie Mead (fermented in a pumpkin)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2012, 11:07 PM   #41
springmom
Texan, by golly. Grandma by the grace of God.
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Quote:
Originally Posted by thiessenace
Hey. Does anyone use acid blend? I am totally new to the game of mead. Just wondering because i heard from the local brewing store that acid blend is required.
I did, yes. The OP did not.

You will need to back sweeten this. I added some Sparkalloid today to mine and took the opportunity to taste test. Let's just say it's dry.... When I rack it again in a couple of weeks I will back sweeten and leave it sit and mellow. Right now the spice taste will take your head off :-D. All by way of saying, it has a whole lot of sweetness in it total by the end. Without the acid blend I'm not sure it'd taste like wine, as you expect some acidity from a glass of wine.

Considering: Sparkling raspberry wine, carrot wine

In Primary: Ed's Apfelwein; Raspberry Puree Apple Cider

In Secondary: Pumpkin Pie Mead; Traditional Mead; Dried Elderberry Wine; Blueberry Wine; Texas Persimmon wine; White grape/peach wine; Texas Twang; Hi, Biscus! Metheglyn; A Maize-ing Wine

So far, so good.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-24-2012, 12:17 AM   #42
kyled
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

How did you estimate capacity based on your pumpkin size? I wanna make approximately 5 gallons based on my fermenting bucket.

Old 10-24-2012, 03:41 AM   #43
springmom
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

I can't quite imagine a pumpkin that would hold 5 gallons unless you grow one of those giant pumpkins. Mine was a nice big jack o lantern size and held one gallon just right.