Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Mead > Joe's Ancient Orange Mead

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-24-2013, 02:19 AM   #1171
MidTNJasonF
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 3 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 61 Times on 44 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Just took another medal with JAOM in competition, a third this time. It was the very last of my last batch. really need to make some more of this.

Will ride for beer!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2013, 08:06 PM   #1172
st1nky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Hello, im a little new to this, would like to make a 5 gal batch of JAOM but was wondering if i needed to use 5 packets of yeast as well or would just 2-3 do? i read somewhere that since the yeast would multiple that you didnt have to do a 1 to 1 modification of the recipe when it came to the yeast.
any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

Old 02-24-2013, 08:08 PM   #1173
CreamyGoodness
Grows On You Like Yeast
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 1613 Times on 1137 Posts
Likes Given: 2703

believe it or not, stinky, you still only need 1 packet.

You are more likely to have a threesome with members of the Japanese women's curling team whilst spinning a plate on your head than you are likely to screw up a batch of JAOM.

YES, WE HAVE TRIED OTHER YEASTS! USE BREAD YEAST FOR JAOM!

Old 02-25-2013, 01:23 PM   #1174
st1nky
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

thanks for the info, C.G. .. time to make some mead

Old 02-27-2013, 04:44 AM   #1175
Thomas007
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Okay, my question might have been covered before in this monster thread, but I don't know the right search terms. I started a batch of JAOM in November, everything went fine. A few weeks ago, the fruit even dropped. It was clear, so I was all ready to bottle it, but I didn't have an autosiphon so I waited.