Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Mead > Cherry Berry Mead

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-26-2013, 05:13 AM   #101
graydragon2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts

Yea my last name is Swenson so I wanted something with a celtic flair that incorporated it.

Primary-
Secondary-
Next up - Apfelwein and/or a show mead
Bottled- Cherry Berry Melomel, Pappy's hard cider

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2013, 02:02 AM   #102
bwhupp
Recipes 

Likes Given: 14

Hello fellow brewmates,

I am brand new to this, but have been reading and educating myself for several months. Recently I have purchased a 6 gallon glass carboy and 7.5ish gallon fermenter bucket. I am very, very interested in this breaking my brewing virginity! A few questions I have...

I am going to utilize the fermenter bucket as the primary then racking off into the 6 gallon carboy. I am using the mead calculator to the best of my ability and am aiming for 14% abv. By doing such, I know my brew place has Lalvin 1122... is this a decent choice yeast for this recipe? I know that you can "use any kind of yeast you want", but I reallly want to have a good first go around! haha!

I am interested in a medium sweet mead. I am aware I can backsweeten with honey and chemical additives, but I'd rather not bother with that! This is what I was aiming to do....

Yeast: Lalvin 71B-1122
Batch Size (Gallons): 6 Gallons

18 Pounds Clover Honey
12 Pounds of Frozen Strawberries
2 Quarts Welch's White Grape Cherry 100% Juice
2 teaspoons of yeast nutrients
Lalvin 71b-1122
1 Gallons of Water to heat/ rest to fill to 6 gallon mark.

By doing this to the calculator, it has potential of 14.84% but of course should die at 14% due to yeast tolerance of 1122... correct? Leaving a sweet taste remaining due it not reaching maximum potential? Am I understanding this correctly?

Thank you for looking at my post and providing guidance to a newbie.