Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Mead > Blueberry Mead

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-24-2009, 05:52 PM   #31
corexcore
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

So my fermentation seems to be stuck. I just watched the air lock for a full minute and couldn't tell that it had moved at all. This is problematic because I just racked it and added honey about two days ago. I used Lalvin EC 1118 initially, which I understand is a quick fermenting yeast. Is it likely that this yeast is dead? I understand that I could re-energize it with yeast nutrient and energizer and see if that would help. However, I've moved to a different area since I started brewing and the homebrew shop here has the recommended Lalvin d-47 strain of yeast. Is it advisable, since my fermentation seems to have stuck, to pull a sample out, check the SG, and, if it's too high to have stopped switch over to D-47? will this negatively impact my mead? If I add too much, I suspect that it would give yeasty flavors that might have to be aged out, but perhaps just a little bit, and some energizer and so forth? Any insights?

I have acquired an automatic siphon, by the way, so no more suck-siphoning for me.

Also, I look forward to hearing how Lightning's brew goes. Keep us informed!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2009, 11:06 AM   #32
LightningInABottle
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I pitched mine last night with the following changes.
15 lbs of Blueberry Blossom honey
60oz of fresh blueberries
1 packet of Lalvin EC 1118
2 1/2 teaspoons of Peptic Enzyme
5 tsps of Yeast Nutrients
2 tsps of Yeast Energizer
5 Campden Tablets