Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Mead > Blackberry Mead (Melomel)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2009, 01:33 AM   #11
StoutFan
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Wouldn't freezing just suspend the lif cycle of the nasties? Could one blanch them for a second to not only sanitize, but lock in color? I used blackberry puree in a can, drained the syrup, and them added to the secondary. No access to trustable fresh berries at the moment (dad ate most of them), but organic blueberries for my "Buck and Blue" mead should be arriving next week.

Gambrinous - to be full of beer

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2010, 01:51 AM   #12
pnh2atl
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I just picked about 2# of blackberries today. I will notify the family they are now off limits as are all the blackberry bushes. If I don't have to go to work tomorrow I'm making this. I've been brewing for a couple years but this will be my first mead. I will try to take a few pics as I go. I've only tried mead once and it was still. If I get cracking on this it should be ready for Christmas.

Once you are finished you don't carb it do you?

Thanks.

Old 07-23-2010, 11:38 PM   #13
esarkipato
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Hey sorry let this lie for a while. I did carb some of this. Highly recommended!

I wasn't incredibly satisfied with this over time, and I think I know why. The berries were a mix of black raspberries and blackberries. As I was picking them this year, I noted that I really prefer the flavor of the BRB to the BB. The BB leaves an astringent aftertaste, and I really think this comes through in the mead. I plan on using the BB for beer, which will easily cover up the minor aftertaste issue, and try to just use BRB for another batch of mead.

"Whiskey’s for drinking, water’s for fighting over" - Samuel Clemens (maybe)

Old 01-18-2011, 03:51 PM   #14
esarkipato
Recipes