Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Wine > Coffee Wine

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2014, 10:33 PM   #11
Mike_Turner
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

I need some help guys/gals.
I followed the recipe except for the following:
-did not use energizer or bentonite
-used 1 lb table sugar, 1 lb brown sugar
-used decaf dunkin donuts

OG:1.098

After 8 days fermentation seemed to be complete so I took gravity reading

FG:0.990

I was shocked how fast it had fermented! I took a taste and about threw up in my mouth.
It tasted like straight vinegar/ammonia. It was awful.

Anybody know what I did wrong? I'm very new at this so any help will be greatly appreciated!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2014, 02:10 AM   #12
LoneTreeFarms
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 49

Not positive cuz I haven't made this yet. But the second sentence says 4-6 months not days to mature out. I'd suggest putting an airlock on it and forget about it.

Old 01-20-2014, 12:43 AM   #13
Gar
Recipes 

Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 19

does milk sugar add any of the flavor of milk? ive never used it its not fermintable right? i was thinking it may a better back sweetner i dont know tho.

Old 01-20-2014, 01:04 AM   #14
Leadgolem
Drunken Monkey
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 960 Times on 736 Posts
Likes Given: 1763

EDIT: Sorry I've been MIA guys. I've been busy with family.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_Turner View Post
I need some help guys/gals.
I followed the recipe except for the following:
-did not use energizer or bentonite
-used 1 lb table sugar, 1 lb brown sugar
-used decaf dunkin donuts

OG:1.098

After 8 days fermentation seemed to be complete so I took gravity reading

FG:0.990

I was shocked how fast it had fermented! I took a taste and about threw up in my mouth.

Anybody know what I did wrong? I'm very new at this so any help will be greatly appreciated!