Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Wine > Apple Juice Wine

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-22-2011, 10:39 PM   #21
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 4280 Times on 3119 Posts
Likes Given: 825

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecc97 View Post
I am brand new to wine making and this is the first recipe I tried. I have 5 gallons in the primary. I used EC-1118 Champagne yeast and did not rehydrate it before pitching, just sprinkled it on top. I have the primary airlocked because the instructions that came with my kit said to do that plus we are having a bit of an issue with fruit flies right now. It is 66 degrees in the house and I am only getting one bubble every 45-50 seconds through the airlock. I thought there would be more activity at this point. Is this normal at this stage? Should I remove the airlock and cover with a towel instead?
If fruitflies are an issue, then airlocking is probably your best best. Grab a sanitized something (dowel, spoon, etc) and give it a stir to aerate it a bit. Don't count airlock bubbling as significant- there should be bubbles (like in soda pop) throughout the must. But stirring it will help since you have it airlocked.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-27-2011, 04:25 PM   #22
oats
Recipes 

Also remember that the lower the temperature the slower the fermentation process.

Old 10-29-2011, 11:35 AM   #23
Ecc97
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yooper View Post
If fruitflies are an issue, then airlocking is probably your best best. Grab a sanitized something (dowel, spoon, etc) and give it a stir to aerate it a bit. Don't count airlock bubbling as significant- there should be bubbles (like in soda pop) throughout the must. But stirring it will help since you have it airlocked.
Thanks, Yooper. On the fourth day the fermentation took off under the airlock.