Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Smoke & Wood-Aged Beer > Partial - Herr Gumbolputty's Simple Smoked Ale

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2011, 06:17 AM   #1
Spitzbube
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 2

Default Partial - Herr Gumbolputty's Simple Smoked Ale

Recipe Type: Partial Mash
Yeast: American Ale Yeast
Yeast Starter: Yes, big one
Batch Size (Gallons): 5
Original Gravity: unknown
Final Gravity: unknown
Boiling Time (Minutes): 70
Color: deep brown
Primary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 14 days at about 65
Additional Fermentation: 3 weeks in the bottle
Secondary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 14 days at about 65
Tasting Notes: Slightly smokey, rich head

Herr Gumbolputty’s Simple Smoked Ale

I am a bit of a lurker, but I do appreciate the posts for others. I contribute in hopes it might add to someone’s experience. I’ve been brewing occasionally for a couple years now—I think I am on batch 25 or so. I share this beer because I believe it is excellent, and is not much like anything one could buy. It is not as heavy as a full-on porter, has a coffee taste like a Guinness, but is smoother, and the smoked taste is subtle. I have to add that I “Brew in a Bag” on a stovetop, and even though I have done all grain brews, this I find is just easier for me. I think the full boil and the extra control one has by doing the mash right there on the stovetop (or on the burner) is really beneficial. I don’t check my conversion, nor do I take hydrometer readings. I just enjoy the beer. So I apologize to those who take the care to do those things. But I have found this is an exceptional beer despite being rather simple for a smoked brew.

Grain
8 lbs American 2 row
1 Chocolate Roasted American
2 lbs Amber DME

Hops
Bittering: 1 oz Kent, 1 oz Sterling
Dry Hop: ½ oz Simcoe, ½ oz Amarillo

Yeast: American Ale Yeast (Pitched onto a yeast cake from an IPA)