Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Smoke & Wood-Aged Beer > All-Grain - 100% Peated Ale

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2012, 04:42 PM   #41
Alchemist42
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

{head scratching}

Honestly, I would consider/suggest actually trying it as it first and then fixing it if you find a problem or issue. i.e. don't fix it if it isn't broken. You are proposing all these changes to something you have not even tasted. It's not that that I am attached to people not tweaking the recipe, but as a designer, I guess I have issues with someone making changes to something they've not tried, making assumptions as to how it is, and trying to 'improve' it based on guesses instead of 1st hand knowledge.

My first test batch went from 1.074 to 1.012. That is a lot of attenuation. Sure, it's not perfectly dry, but quite a bit. In some ways, I think your 50/50 is going to make it sweeter than if you just went 100%. So your response is to add sugar to dry out a recipe that was dry, but sweetened because you went 50/50.

Does that make sense or am I just coming across over protective of my recipe?

Have fun and good luck either way.

Old 07-16-2012, 08:19 PM   #42
GordonT
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alchemist42 View Post
Wow, I missed these last posts. Great to hear someone tried brewing this. Way to go Gordon. Isn't it rather amazing just how 'not peaty' it is given what the base it? I toasted the 2 lbs in a wok on my stove top. Just until the color changed to just about what your wort color is.

Yeah, it is a lengthy mash. Did you do a starch test or just follow my lead? Mine was starch test based.

So, it's been a few weeks now. How is it coming? Bottled or kegged yet?