Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Spice/Herb/Vegetable Beer > All-Grain - Summer/Winter Solstice Clone

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-01-2012, 02:23 PM   #51
g-star
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 80 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by homebrewbeliever View Post
So I'm brewing this recipe this Saturday, and when I went to my brew shop, they were all out of the California Lager yeast! They didn't even have the white labs equivalent. SO, since this beer IS a cream ale, I just got white labs WLP080 - Cream Ale Blend. Do you think this will substantially change the flavor of the beer? I think it might work well, actually, but I am still a novice at this whole thing.
I recently listened to the CYBI show for the Anderson Valley Boont Amber, and the brewer from AV spoke extensively about the house yeast, which is derived from an English strain. It got me thinking about this clone, and if that distinctive taste (some describe as blueberry pancake) in this beer and the amber is coming from the yeast and associated esters.

I've brewed the Winter Solstice twice based on this recipe using S-05 fermented cool and WLP810 at 60F. I thought it came out very well and was close, but fell short of cloned, mostly due to it lacking that signature flavor. As the yeast is a mutated house strain, it may be impossible to recreate using commercial offerings from WL or Wyeast.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-01-2012, 03:15 PM   #52
scottland
Recipes 

Liked 138 Times on 105 Posts
Likes Given: 12

I wonder if AVBC bottle conditions any of their beers?

Old 07-23-2012, 12:28 AM   #53
bnmir
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 7 Posts

Yes, I realize this an older thread, but I recently had one of these and it got me thinking I need to try and brew one.
I really think there are other spices than just vanilla in this beer, anyone care to hazard a guess what they might be?

Fast Dogs Brooing