Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Spice/Herb/Vegetable Beer > Extract - Lady Rumpkin Pumpkin Rum Ale

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2011, 02:47 PM   #51
nocsimian
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

I'm a newb but here's my thought process on it and others could chime in. If those gravity readings were taken @60 degrees, then that should put the beer at around 9-10% abv. Without knowing which yeast you pitched, I would think that alcohol content would be enough to prohibit any future yeast growth. Racking to a secondary may arouse some sleepy critters though.

Any more learned folks care to shortchange my $0.02?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2011, 03:55 PM   #52
mweggert
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Just wanted to follow up to my earlier post about making this recipe with less than a full boil. I basically followed the recipe in the original post but decided to bump the Crystal Malt to 2#. I also used 2oz of goldings to account for the smaller boil volume.

The pumpkin was added to the boil, and it was a challenge to keep the threat of boilover under control. My little 4 gallon pot was struggling to contain everything, and the wort was the thickest i've ever seen. It coated my stirring spoon like syrup.

I transferred just under 3 gallons to my primary, and topped off to 5.5 gallons with an OG of 1.081. It's been consistently bubbling away at 66-68 for a few days now.

So, my advice to anyone considering this with a smaller pot, go for it, it's an adventure!

Old 09-24-2011, 08:26 PM   #53
jbfrank
Recipes 

So this recipe sounds yummy -- but I'm thinking of ditching the "tea." I'm just not a liquor in my beer fan. How vital is it to the flavor? Should maybe I add the spices (maple flavoring and pumpkin spice and just not the rum?

Or is this just a completely different recipe and all the notes here (timing, priming sugar calculation, etc) not going to work with it?