Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Spice/Herb/Vegetable Beer > Basil IPA 07'er

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-18-2009, 08:04 AM   #21
Jpeverini
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

No no no no, I actually didn't even realize this was an all-grain brew! I just did a search and saw this beer... Well, if that's the case, then I will postpone this brew for a while! I am still a noob and only doing partial mashes. Well, thanks for the help, I guess I need to be a little more careful before asking questions. I blame it on the noob effect, and should wear off shortly, haha.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2010, 04:59 AM   #22
Shinglejohn
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 11

You can do this as a partial mash. just substitute out some of the Marris Otter for DME.

Something in the area of 4lbs Marris Otter and 3-4lbs of DME, and do the rest of the recipe the same, youll just have to adjust the mash.

Last edited by Shinglejohn; 01-06-2010 at 05:01 AM.

Old 03-20-2010, 10:16 PM   #23
Phishalot
Recipes 

Coming from a culinary school graduate and working with herbs alot, I know that your best best for getting FRESH basil characteristics is to dry-hop the basil and or take your basil and infuse it into your priming sugar simple syrup... when the freshly picked basil is added to the boil... all of the essential delicious oils are evaporated and you get left with just a useless, weak, and stale taste. If you are worried about contaminates which is always a good thing to think about, it most likely be okay since you have very hot wort still. But I really recommend if you are to add ANY herb, add it by dry-hopping, priming sugar, bottling (worked amazing), or into secodary.

Old 03-21-2010, 11:06 PM   #24
dwarven_stout
Recipes 

Liked 34 Times on 32 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phishalot View Post