Fruit Beer Rose City Red Raspberry Oatmeal Wheat (Partial Mash)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The_X-man19

Reaction score
Recipe Type
Partial Mash
Yeast
W\\'Yeast 1332 Northwest Ale
Batch Size (Gallons)
Original Gravity
Final Gravity
Boiling Time (Minutes)
IBU
Color
Primary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp)
14 days @ 68-74
Tasting Notes
Oatmeal adds nice body. Berry not overpowering but well balanced with malt and hops.
Background info:

My best friend John first brewed a raspberry ale based on this recipe. Once I started brewing for myself, I decided to make some changes I thought would make it better, and I was right!

This was my 2nd attempt; the first used a different yeast and only 1/2 lb flaked oats), and the hop choices differ because my local supply store was out of Amarillo and Crystal.

This recipe took 2nd overall in the 2012 Timbers Army Homebrew contest with a 40.5 score (1st place scored 41), and won the people's choice in the public vote.

Grain Bill:
.5 lb Crystal 20
.5 lb Crystal 40
1.0 lb Flaked Oats
6.6 lb Wheat LME

Hop Bill
1.0 oz Cascade pellets (30 min)
1.0 oz Liberty pellets (20 min)
1.0 oz Willamette pellets (10 min)

Other Ingredients
6.0 lb raspberry puree

Steep malts and oats for 30 min @ 150 degrees in 2-3 gallons of water. Remove grains from wort and bring to boil. Add hops at time intervals above for this 30 minute boil. Cool to around 75 degrees and place into fermenter. (I bought an 8 gallon bucket for this, because my 6 gallon plastic carboy wouldn't be large enough to hold the berries). Pitch yeast and allow to ferment for 7 days.