Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Belgian Strong Ale > All-Grain - Rochefort 8 clone (as close as you can get)!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2011, 10:00 PM   #21
Hex23
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 42 Times on 42 Posts
Likes Given: 45

Awesome! Good luck. I think my major issue probably was keeping the beaker and stirplate in my basement where it's 60F. That's definitely not an ideal range for that yeast. I let it go about 8 days before I gave up. By that time the nasties had taken hold.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2011, 12:04 AM   #22
JeffB
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 3

How does it taste now with the additional two months?

Old 02-14-2011, 02:39 AM   #23
Hex23
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

It's definitely getting even better with age. Flavors are melding more and I'm tasting some more pronounced plum/raisin. It has also lost any of the early hot-alcohol taste it had on the first tasting. The banana flavor seems totally gone. I'm going to do a blind side-by-side with a real Rochefort 8, but I'm going to try to wait until it hits the 5 month mark.

Old 02-14-2011, 03:01 AM   #24
JeffB
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Cool, im looking forward to this one.

Old 02-14-2011, 10:24 PM   #25
rtg
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Clone

I just made this too. Found a thread that stated that the protein rest was 20 lites at 155, then 5 liters at 210 for 60 minutes and then 9 liters at 210 again to mash out. I sparged with 3 more liters. I ended up with a more volume than I needed! I had an PM extract version of this going at the same time with:

7 # Light DME
2# Maris otter
1.5 # Dark Candi sugar
1.5 # Crystal 40 L
0.5 # Special B Malt
0.2 # Carafa Dehusked