Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Belgian Strong Ale > Multiple - The Pious - Westvleteren 12 style quad - multiple

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2013, 08:24 PM   #1191
jeetaman
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

CSI, am I reading something wrong or did you lower the Candi Syrup from 3lbs. to 2lbs?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2013, 10:12 PM   #1192
bottlebomber
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2640 Times on 2068 Posts
Likes Given: 293

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeetaman
I am new to brewing so changing stuff up makes me worry that I will screw something up. If I brew a half batch and sub in additional DME how much should I use? And is there an argument for using DME over LME?
I find DME to be better in most ways, more fermentable (critical to this recipe) and not as subject to spoilage. If you used 5 lbs of Pilsen DME it would give you about 1.040. You could then make up the difference with the grain bill that your system will handle. It will be pretty foolproof, if you decide you want to do it I could easily put together a partial mash recipe for you.

Old 03-01-2013, 11:02 PM   #1193
jeetaman
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Oh man, that would be so awesome! Thank you so much for helping me with this. I have only done 2 LME brews so I think I am a little out of my league trying to jump straight into this beer.

Old 03-01-2013, 11:45 PM   #1194
bottlebomber
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2640 Times on 2068 Posts
Likes Given: 293

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeetaman
Oh man, that would be so awesome! Thank you so much for helping me with this. I have only done 2 LME brews so I think I am a little out of my league trying to jump straight into this beer.
I don't think it's out of your league if you omit the decoction mash. What is your setup like?

Old 03-02-2013, 06:04 AM   #1195
jeetaman
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts