Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Belgian Strong Ale > Extract - Belgian Trippel (2006 World Beer Cup Gold Medal: Dragonmead Final Absolution clone)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2013, 01:20 PM   #491
HuRRiC4Ne
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMXELITE View Post
HuRRiC4Ne,

I'm about to try the all extract version of this and I had a question for you. This is my only second time brewing so I'm still learning. You mentioned making this into a Quad so is that only adding another 3.3 lbs of LME? Also what is the total boil time for this recipe 60 or 90 min?

Thanks
Quads are usually around 11 to 12%, so use this tool to calculate what you will get. Remember that yeast will have a very high attenuation. http://www.brewersfriend.com/extract-ogfg/

And a boil time of 60 minutes, no reason to boil any longer. Note, if your going with a quad, then i would counter balance it with higher IBU's... So maybe a 90 minute boil? and/or more hops... use brewerfriend.com to figure out the IBU's also. It's all personal preference, so experiment... I would guess a 35 to 40 IBU would be nice for a Belgian quad.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-03-2013, 04:14 AM   #492
kagythings
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

I brewed this on Sept 28 and it's bubbling away at 72 degrees. Let's say fermentation is done and I transfer to a secondary at 14 days. Main reason for the secondary is to split the batch. 3 gallons regular and 2.5 gallons on oak chips. I've done a lot of reading on the quantity of oak as well as the time in the secondary with oak but I'm all ears if you have brewed an oak beer before. My question is: Will the beer be ready to bottle at 4 weeks since I will be leaving town for 6 weeks and would like it to be ready when I get back mid December?