Yummy Sound Sour Stout

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Alright gentlemen, I'm in.

After a trip down to Austin, TX from where i live in South Jersey (where sour beers are virtually unattainable), I acquired quite the appetite for sour beers. I was also fortunate enough to visit Jester King's brewery and try some of their bell-cow beers such as Ol' Oi and of course Funk Metal, as well as other short-term selections. I was also smart enough to purchase a bottle of Ol' Oi and Funk Metal, which I still have.

So naturally, now I'm highly interested in brewing my own. First, I'm still fairly new to homebrewing as an overall practice, and have never attempted to make any sort of sour or wild beer. There's tons of info in this thread, on this forum, and on the internet as a whole, but I do still have some questions.

I plan on stepping up the dredges from my Funk Metal bottle to use for this brew to make it somewhat similar to that delicious nectar. I've done some research into souring beers, and it appears there are several methods between sour mashing, kettle souring, etc, but I'm just unsure on how the dredges from an already sour beer come into play. Usually the other methods include both a normal brewing yeast AND some form of souring (lacto, brett, what have you), but would these dredges act as both?