Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Belgian and French Ale > All-Grain - La Chouffe

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-20-2010, 05:38 PM   #1
GordonT
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default All-Grain - La Chouffe

Recipe Type: All Grain
Yeast: Wyeast Ardennes
Yeast Starter: Wyeast Smack pack
Additional Yeast or Yeast Starter: none
Batch Size (Gallons): 5
Original Gravity: 1075
Final Gravity: 1015
IBU: 7
Boiling Time (Minutes): 90
Color: Golden
Primary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 1 week
Secondary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 1 week
Tasting Notes: Malty, spicy and a hint of smoke

I've been working this beer clone for a couple of years now. In side by side tests with the original I find theirs is drier and has a tang to it that mine hasn't. I think theirs may come from a larger addition of sugar. Most people prefer mine to the original. Something to be said for fresh beer.

16 lbs lager malt
1.1 lbs white syrup

1 oz Spalt or Perle in the boil
.5 Hallertau at 30
3/4 oz Saaz at 5

.4 oz crushed coriander seed at the end of the boil

This beer should be fermented at a high temperature. Living in a temperate part of the world I often have to resort to a brew belt to up the temp.

This is a favorite of mine and one I try to keep on tap as a standard. It is fine to drink young and is usually good after just a week or so in the keg.

It changes over time, dries out and becomes more like an aperitif. An uncomplicated recipe that produces a beer of great complexity.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2010, 05:52 PM   #2
jbrookeiv
Beer Review Dude
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Mash temp?

What's white syrup? Which lager malt do you use? This sounds perfect since I live in South FL, it's around 75 in my apartment.

My Beer Review Blog: Beer Review Dude
My Craft Beer Social Network: Craft Beer Network